Author dropped in French translation?

I encountered a curious case today and wondered if anyone else has every seen this type of thing…

While cataloguing the French language translation of “Sail” by James Patterson and Howard Roughan I noticed that the co-author Howard Roughan was NOT mentioned anywhere on the french novel !!  What does this imply?  That because a translator came along and translated the English to French that suddenly this negated the credit of the co-author?  Ridiculous!  When I catalogued it I put the co-author in square brackets.

245    1 0    $aDernière escale /$cJames Patterson [et Howard Roughan] ; traduit de l’américain par Philippe Hupp.

I wonder if I had not been familiar with the English version would I have even noticed the omission??

Leave a Reply

